INTERVIEW: THE CHRISTMAS TAG – WITH ME!

My posts have been lacking in the festive theme this month.  I haven’t really taken part in blogmas, or anything Christmassy, so I was extremely happy when the awesome Rock and Roses Mama tagged me to do the Christmas Tag in her latest post.  If you haven’t had a chance to read my interview with her go check it out, and stop by her blog – reading it always makes me feel more sane!
This is the Christmas tag where you find out about how I spend my Christmas and any weird traditions I partake in. So let’s get festive!!!

What’s your favourite Christmas movie?

Scrooged – the one with Bill Murray.  It’s so over the top, and I love the massive transformation in Scrooge at the end. Year on year it makes me giggle. My favourite ghost is the fairy ghost – she’s complete psycho and cute at the same time. 

Have you ever had a White Christmas?

Yes I have had a white Christmas… although I can’t remember it.  I know I’ve had one…. there’s a picture of me as a baby next to a window with snow. 

Where do you usually spend your holiday?

Well up until last year me and big dude spent Christmas apart and I usually spent it at my Aunt and Uncles with my Aunty’s family, my Mum, Stepdad and grandparents.  Although the turnout hasn’t been the same for the last few years because of various things, I love it there.  It’s the time of the year I feel so close to my family and we always have a giggle.  We eat too much, try to clear up, pass out comatosed from drink and food for an hour, wake up and play a game. Usually watch the Eastenders Christmas special or Doctor who. 

However, this year it’s very different as me and big dude have decided we alternate families for Christmas. We’re spending our first Christmas with little dude at his Mum’s.  So that will be exciting.  I’m actually really looking forward to it.

What is your favourite Christmas song?

It’s got to be Fairytale of New York.  I have no idea what they’re singing but it always puts me in the Christmas mood. No matter how much I’ve had to drink or how tired I am I can mumble anything and it sounds like I know the words.

Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

YES!! Always opened one… but I used to stay up and wait till midnight to open the rest of the presents. One year I opened all my presents after midnight that I didn’t have any to open on the morning Christmas Day and sat there watching everyone open theirs.  That’ll teach me to be impatient.

Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Uhhh come dasher, prancer, vixen, lixen, rudloph?????!?!?! I’m assuming I can’t google these…..

What holiday traditions are you looking forward to this year?

We’re making our own traditions this year.  I was most looking forward to going to London to see the lights.  I really enjoyed that. Little different with a baby, and a little more stressful.  But totally enjoyed it.  I’m looking forward to my Christmas crafting session with little dude as part of #SENSORYDECEMBER

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

It’s fake, fake fake.  It has fake snow on it, fake piney things, and fake trunk.  If it was on snog, marry or avoid, P.O.D. would have a field day with the fakeness.  The fake snow goes EVERYWHERE.  I think I inhale a whole load of it everytime we pack it and repack it.

What’s your all time favourite holiday treat/food/sweet?

Cheese and digestive biscuits and pigs in blanket.  I would totally ignore Christmas dinner when I was a kid and just eat the pigs in blanket.  I have a really unhealthy obsession with pork and totally love bacon. I’d have bacon for Christmas dinner if I could.

Be honest, do you like giving or receiving gifts better?

I love to get presents buuuttt I spend hours looking for presents for people, and watching their faces open them up brings me more joy than when I receive one.  This year as well, little dude will have presents to open too.  I can’t wait to give him his first one! Even if he doesn’t understand what the heck is going on.

What is the best Christmas present you have ever received?

Bubble wrap.  There is a time in your life – when you’re extremely young – that bubble wrap is a totally awesome present.  Hours of fun, and when the bubbles are all popped it makes for a very fetching cape.  In my adult life, me and big dude gift each other a holiday to a Christmas Market.  I love travelling and exploring so it’s the perfect present. If it has to be a physical present I’d say a blender – we use it practically everyday!

What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

Lapland or that place with the glass igloos or New York! Ahh so many places…..anywhere cold, snowy and magical really!

Are you a pro present wrapper or do you fail miserably?

I’m alright.  I can get the job done and make it look half decent.  However, if I had more time and money I would buy ribbons, tissue paper, bags, pom poms and totally pimp up my presents. 

What made you realise the truth about Santa?

Hmmm, I don’t know, but I know I was that little sh*t of a kid that told everyone else that Santa wasn’t real.

What makes the holidays special for you?

The love.  The holidays for me is spending time with your nearest and dearest.  Being together, laughing and being there for one another. I love my family and my friends. There is no better time than Christmas to show it. 

Thank you for reading!

So now to tag some awesome mum’s to fill this thing out 😀

5 Comments

  1. Love this and thank you so much for the love for my http://rockandrosesmama.wordpress.com/blog you sexy Mama! I am currently imagining the bubble wrap cape… I think the catwalk fashionistas are missing a trick there; practical, functional and fun! I too love a Christmas Market and unfortunately due to working full time didn’t have the time to go to one this year *sobs into tea* but next year I’m totally on that shit… where would you recommend? ❤

    Like

    Reply

    1. The bubble wrap cape is rather dapper :). You can’t beat the Christmas markets in Germany. We went to Berlin one year and it was spectacular. We were hoping to do Munich this year, unfortunately couldn’t, however it is said to be magical! Closer to home the markets in Bath and Winchester as pretty good. Plus the towns are lovely to visit too!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      1. Awwww YES to the Winchester one… i used to live there and always went tot he little one by the Cathedral! Lush! Im hoping to venture to Germany for one next year though… Ill look into both Berlin and Munich and see which one looks best! Thanks for the tips! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

