INTERVIEW: With the awesome Rock and Roses Mama

screen-shot-2016-08-16-at-16-25-15

The Rock and Roses Clan

I’ve been reading the Rock and Roses Mama blog since my baby was born 6 months ago.  I love the way that she keeps it real, and has helpful little tips on not loosing your identity just because there’s now a baby around. Her blog posts have helped me ground and find myself again after the newborn haze.  Anyways, enough about me and onto getting know more about the Rock and Roses Mama…

Tell me a little about yourself and your little one

I am a 28 year old Mumpreneur wannabe, retail manager, finance to my own rock god and Mama to one amazing little man. Jude is just over two now and is such a little ray of sunshine!

How would you describe your blog?

Rock and Roses Mama is a blog come brand that I hope will inspire Mamas, and fathers too, to understand that they CAN still be themselves and follow their dreams, passions after bringing their bambinos into the world. It is so common for parents, especially new parents, to think that they cannot do the things they once enjoyed. I believe it is in face integral to Mamahood to retain your self identity and strive to keep rockin’ on!

‘Mama it up without losing YOU’
‘Rock up your rosy Mama lifestyle’

What inspired you to start blogging?

After my maternity leave ended I was determined to return to work and did so on a full-time basis. After about a year I knew I wanted to spend more time with my little man and possible work from home for myself… but what to do? I had always had a passion for writing…but what to write?

While on Maternity leave I attended lots of baby classes where I saw women giving up themselves for their children; admitting that their own lives were over and they were devoting their life to their children. Admirable as i think their intentions were I thought it was wrong, you can still be an awesome Mama while keep on rocking on yourself! So I hope to share my experiences, give advice, insights, cheeky mama discounts and most importantly, to inspire!

What’s your typical day look like?

If I am working I am up and leaving the house by 5.30am to start work at 6, I then usually finish at 2/3 to come home to my little man. He usually naps around this time though so I take the opportunity to either get on with housework or blogging or to have some well-earned Momma time! All of those situations call for a nice cuppa tea and a sweet treat too! I am then cooking dinner for when the Mr returns from work, we start the sleepy Prince’s bedtime routine and then have a nice night to ourselves. We have one ‘date night’ per week also which will be either a takeaway/games night or we grab a babysitter and have a night out.

It’s a rainy day, and you’re stuck in doors, what do you do with your little one?

If it is a rainy day, we love a good Disney movie! I’m also a textile artist so I adore getting crafty when we are restricted to the house. We grab our wipe clean mat, open the craft box and let loose!

What’s the hardest thing you’ve found about parenting so far?

The hardest thing about parenting I think has to actually be parenting itself. I mean there is snuggling, having fun and being you childs best buddy and then there is parenting. The moments where you have to tell them ‘no’ or have to stop them from doing something that will injure them but they think it looks like great fun so you are the worst person in the world for stopping them; yeah those times.

Lastly, is there any advice you’d give to new parents like me?

My advice is simply… keep rocking on. Being a Mama is super stressful and super fun at the same time, keep smiling and know you are doing amazingly. Never ever feel guy about having some time to yourself, with your partner or taking you bubba to things you enjoy like festivals etc… Mama it up without losing YOU!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

